My ESSO

Forgotten Password Create Account

Opening an account enables you to complete forms on the ESSO website. To access the ESSO members area please proceed with the membership application.

Host registry

The ESSO Education and Training Committee (ETC), which is responsible for granting the ESSO fellowships, has realised that candidates often experience difficulties finding a hospital, institute or cancer centre that responds to their specific training needs, mainly because they do not know where to find the information on available opportunities.

As a priorty of both the Education and Training Committee (ETC) and the ESSO Young Surgeons and Alumni Club (EYSAC) ESSO has created a registry of possible host Hospitals / Institutes / Cancer Centres where fellowship opportunities have either been previously undertaken or a contact person has provided the details via the Training Fellowship Questionnaire. Please note the listed opportunities are not guaranteed but are to provide possible assistance in finding training fellowship opportunities. We strongly believe that such a registry will help increase the mobility of young cancer surgeons across Europe and help many of them find the most suitable location for their training.

Contact Name

Name of Hospital/Institute/ Cancer Centre

Address

Email

Telephone

Website

Tutor

Fellowship opportunities 

Clinical 

Research 

Both 

Prof. Graeme Poston Dept. of Hepatobiliary Surgery, Aintree University Hospital Longmoor Lane, Liverpool L9 7AL, UK graeme.poston@aintree.nhs.uk 0044151 525 5980 http://intranet.aintree.nhs.uk/SurgeryAnaesthesia/DigestiveDiseases Prof. Graeme Poston *   *
Kurt Van der Speeten Ziekenhuis Oost-Limburg, Dept. of Surgical Oncology Schiepse Bos 6 Kurt.Vanderspeeten@zol.be     Kurt Van der Speeten *   *
Mr Chris Holcombe Breast Unit , Royal Liverpool University Hospital  Breast Unit, 3rd Floor Linda McCartney Centre, Royal Liverpool University Hospital, Prescot Street, Liverpool L7 8XP chris.holcombe@rlbuht.nhs.uk 00441517063459   Mr. Chirs Holcombe *    
Marcus Galea The Great Western Hospital - Breast surgery Swindon, Wilts  SN3 6BB Marcus.Galea@gwh.nhs.uk 004417935304       Marcus Galea *    
Marjut Leidenius, Department Head Breast Surgery Unit, Helsinki University Central Hospital Po.Box 140, 00029 HUS, Helsinki, Finland marjut.leidenius@hus.fi 00358504271005   Marjut Leidenius *    
Emilio Morpurgo Dept of surgery regional specialised centre for laparoscopic and robotic surgery Hospital of Camposampiero, Via Cosma 1, 350 Camposampiero (Padova) Italy emilio.morpurgo@ulss15pd.it 00390409324422   Emilio Morpurgo *    
Guido Torzilli Humanitas Cancer Centre - Milano Via Manzoni 56 - 20147 Rozzano, Milano guiido.torzilli@unimi.it 00390282244502 www.humanitas.it Guido Torzilli     *
Mr. Sanjay Chaudhri Leicester General Hospital - Colorectal Gwendolen Road, Leicester, LE5 4PW, UK schaudhri@nhs.net 00441162584378 www.leicesterhospitals.nhs.uk Mr. Sanjay Chaudhri *    
Gaujoux Sebastien Beaujon Hospital AP HP 100 BD Du General Leclerc - 92119 Clichy sebastien.gaujoux@gmail.com 0033664926656 www.aphp.fr Pr J Belghiti (Liver) - Pr Alain Sauvanet (Pancreas)     *
Dr. Zoltan Matrai National Institute of Oncology Rath Gyorgy u 7-9., 1122 Budapest, Hungary matraidoc@gmail.com 003612248600 / 3302 http://www.oncol.hu/site/index.html Dr. Zoltan Matrai *    
Dr. Isabel T Rubio Breast Surgical Oncology Unit, Breast cancer centre, Hospital Universitario Vall d'Hebron, Barcelona, Spain Paseo Vall d'hebron 110 irubio@vhebron.com 0034932746714 www.ginecologiavhebron.com Dr. Isabel T Rubio     *
Bayu Brahma Dharmais National Cancer Centre Jl. Letjen S. Parman Kav 84-86 slipi west Jakarta 111420 bbrahma_s@yahoo.com 00622156967525 www.dharmais.co.id Samuel J Haryono MD/ Ramadhan MD/ Walta Gautama MD/ Deni Joko MD/ Alban Dien MD/ Bayu Brahma MD *    
Jose M del Pino Monzon Hospital Univ ntra SRA de candelaria CTRA Del Rosario 145. 38010 Santa Cruz de Tenerife. Canary Islands drdelpino@yahoo.es 0034922602075 www.hospitaldelacandelaira.com Jose M Del Pino Monzon *    
Prof. J.M Muller Charite Campus Mitte Charite Platz 1, 10117 berlin beate.rau@charite.de 004930450622214 www.charite.de/ch/chir/chir/chir.htm Prof. Beate Rau     *
Peter Jones Maidstone and tunbridge wells nhs trust Hermitage lane, maidstone old.time@nhs.net 00447831430674 www.breastclinic.co.uk Miss Karina Cox     *
Giovanni Sgroi Chirurgia Oncologica - Ospedale di Treviglio Piazzale Ospedale 1 direttore@chironcologica.it 00390363424372 www.chironcologica.it Giovanni Sgroi *    
Marie- Rose Christiaens University Hospital Leuven - ONC Herestraat 49, 3000 Leuven marie-rose.christiaens@uzleuven.be 003216346831 www.uzleuven.be M.R. Christiaens     *
Ismail Okan Dept of Surgery, Medical Faculty, Gaziosmanpasa University Kaleardi Mah. Muhittin Fusunoglu Cad. Tokat hismailok@yahoo.com; ismail.okan@gop.edu.tr 00905058146715 www.gop.edu.tr Ismail Okam     *
Matthew Barber Edinburgh Breast Unit, Western General Hospital Crewe Roadm, Edinburgh EH4 2XU matthew.barber@luht.scot.nhs.uk 00441315371614   Variable *    
Zacharoula Sidiropoulou Hospital São Francisco Xavier Serviço de Cirurgia Geral, Unidade de Senologia Rua do Forte do Alto do Duque 1495-005 Lisbon Portugal zachsidmd@gmail.com 00351918355411   Zacharoula Sidiropoulou *    
Lucia Zigliani, IEO Education European Institute if Oncology Via Ripamonti 435 - 20141 Milano lucia.zigliani@ieo.it   ieoedu.foresterna@ieo.it 00390257489205 www.ieo.it/english/education Fabrizio Luca. M.D Director, Unit of Integrated Abdominal Surgery *    
Prof. Marc Riquet Thoracic Surgery Unit, Georges Pompidou European Hospital 20 rue Le blanc, 75015 Parism France marc.riquet@egp.aphp.fr 0033156093451 www.aphp.fr Dr. Pierre Mordant     *
Giovanni de Manzoni Borgo Trento Hospital, University of Verona Piazza Stefani 1, 37126 Verona, Italy giovanni.demanzoni@univr.it 00390458123935   Giovanni de Manzoni *    
Marko Hocevar Institute of Oncology, Ljubljana, Slovenia Zaloska 2, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia mhocevar@onko-i.si 0038615879915 www.onko-i.si Marko Hocevar *    
Mr. Simon Holt Prince Philip Hospital Llanelli Carmarthenshire, UK simon.holt@wales.nhs.uk 00441554783386 www.breastsurgerywales.co.uk Mr. S D Holt     *
Jakob de Vries  University medical center Groningen Hanzeplein 1 jakob.de.vries@umcg.nl 0031503612317 www.umcg.nl Jakob de Vries *    
  University of Illinois at Chicago Division of General, Minimally Invasive and Robotic Surgery (MC 958) Suite 435E, Clinical Sciences Building, 840 South Wood Street, Chicago, Illinois 60612, USA piercg@uic.edu 0013123552495   Prof. Pier Cristoforo Giulianotti, MD FACS     *
  Institut Mutualiste
Montsouris
Department of
Digestive Surgery, Paris, France
digestif@imm.fr 0033156616309   Prof. Brice Gayet,
Prof. of Surgery
*    
  University of Sydney , Endocrine Surgical Unit The University Clinic, Royal North Shore Hospital, St Leonards, NSW 2065 marksywak@nebsc.com.au 0061299267113   Prof Mark Sywak      *
  Institut Jules Bordet,
Brussels
Brussels, Belgium sandra.golstein@bordet.be 003225413174   Prof.Roland van Velthoven *    
  University of
Queensland
School of Chemistry
and Molecular Biosciences
melissa.brown@uq.edu.au 0061733654622   Professor Melissa Brown     *
  Royal Marsden
 Hospital
Sycamore House, Royal Marsden Hospital, Downs Road, Sutton, Surrey, SM2 5PT, UK Ian.Judson@icr.ac.uk 00442087224303   Prof Ian Judson,
Head of Department - Sarcoma
*    
  Klinikum
Bremen-Mitte 
Department of General,
Visceral and Oncologic Surgery, Klinikum Bremen Mitte, St Jurgen Strasse 1, 28205 Bremen
Thomas.Lehnert@klinikum-bremen-mitte.de 00494214975458   Prof.med. Thomas Lehnert     *
  Melanoma Institute Australia, The Poche Centre, 40 Rocklands Road, North Sydney, NSW 2060, Australia   0061299117200 melanoma.org.au Prof Jonathon Stretch       
  Royal Hallamshire Hospital,
University of Sheffield, UK
Department of Oncology, The Medical School, Beech Hill Road, Sheffield, UK m.w.reed@sheffield.ac.uk 00441142713326   Prof MW Reed *    
  Royal Adelaide Hospital,
Adelaide, Australia
North Tce Adelaide, South Austrialia 5000 brendon.coventry@adelaide.edu.au 006182224440   Prof Brendon Coventry     *
Amit Goyal Royal Derby Hospital, Oncoplastic Breast Surgery Uttoxeter Road, Derby, England, DE22 3NE amit.goyal@nhs.net +44(0)1332 785538 http://www.derbyhospitals.nhs.uk/ Amit Goyal *    
Professor Adel Denewer Oncology Center - Mansoura University (OCMU) Gehan St.  adeldenewer@mans.edu.eg +201223237791 http://www.mans.edu.eg/en Prof. Adel Denewer     *
Professor Franco Roviello Universita Degli Studi Di Siena  Siena franco.roviello@gmail.com   http://www.dsmcn.unisi.it/en Professor Franco Roviello *    
W.A. Bemelman  Academic Medical Center Amsterdam w.a.bemelman@amc.uva.nl   https://www.amc.nl/web/research/researchamc/amc-a-glance.htm       *
Professor Claudio Bassi University of Verona, Department of Surgery Verona, Italy claudio.bassi@univr.it   http://www.univr.it/jsp/index.jsp Professor Claudio Bassi     *
Marc GH Besselink Academic Medical Center, Department of Surgery Amsterdam m.g.besselink@amc.nl +31205669111   Marc GH Besselink     *
Prof. Masaki Sekino University of Tokyo Japan sekino@bee.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp +81358417490   Prof. Masaki Sekino   *  
Prof. Aleix Ulrich Heidelbery University Hospital Heidelberg, Germany Alexis.Ulrich@med.uni-heidelberg.de +496221566250 www.chirurgieinfo.com Prof. Alexis Ulrich   *  
Dr. Donato Casella Careggi University Hospital, Breast Unit Florence, Italy donatocasella@gmail.com 39055411608 http://www.aou-careggi.toscana.it/internet/index.php?lang=it Dr. Donato Casella *    
Dr. Ismail Jatoi University of Texas Health Science Centre San Antonio, USA jatoi@uthscsa.edu   www.uthscsa.edu Dr. Ismail Jatoi *    
Prof. Peter Naredi Sahlgrenska University Hospital, Department of Surgery Gothenburg, Sweden peter.naredi@gu.se +46 31 342 8345 www.clinsci.gu.se Prof. Peter Naredi     *
Prof. Mark Smithers Princess Alexandra Hospital Brisbane, Australia m.smithers@uq.edu.au +61 731762111 http://www.uq.edu.au/ Prof. Mark Smithers     *
Mr. Tom D Cecil PMI Basingstoke, Basingstoke and North Hampshire Hospital Basingstoke, UK tom.cecil@nhs.net +44 1256 313547 www.hampshirehospitals.nhs.uk Mr. Tom D Cecil *    
Katharina Allen Cleveland Clinic Cleveland, USA allenk3@ccf.org +1 216 445 3832 http://my.clevelandclinic.org/        
Dr. Emilio Morpurgo Hospital of Camposampiero Padova, Italy chirurgia_csp@ulss15.pd.it +39 049 932 4422 http://www.ulss15.pd.it/nqcontent.cfm?a_id=39 Dr. Emilio Morpurgo      
Dr. Theodore Saclarides Loyola University Health System Chicago, USA thsaclarides@lumc.edu   http://loyolamedicine.org/ Dr. Theodore Saclarides   *  
Prof. E.J.Th. Rutgers Netherlands Cancer Insitute- Antoni van Leeuwenhoek Hospital Amsterdam, The Netherlands e.rutgers@nki.nl   www.avl.nl Prof. E.J.Th. Rutgers     *
Ibrahim Mohamed Sallam Misr International Hopistal Giza, Egypt heema049@hotmail.com +201 003 131181 www.misrhospital.org Ibrahim Mohamed Sallam     *
Kirsten Braun UNIVERSITY OF HEIDELBERG Germany Kirsten.Braun@med.uni-heidelberg.de Markus.Buechler@med.uni-heidelberg.de +49 6221 54-19012 http://www.uni-heidelberg.de/university/profile/ Prof. Dr. Markus W. Büchler      
Ms. Nordiana Baruzzi European Institute of Oncology Italy marina.baruzzi@ieo.it +41 (0)91 973 19 00 http://www.esmo.org/ Ms. Nordiana Baruzzi      
Alessandro Dalessandro University of Heidelberg The Netherlands peter. schemmer@med.uni-heidelberg.de Astrid.Dalessandro@med.uni-heidelberg.de +49 6221 54-19012 http://www.uni-heidelberg.de/university/profile/ Prof. Peter Schemmer      
Prof. Jacques Belghiti Hôpital Beaujon France Jacques.belghiti@bjn.aphp.fr florence.gantelmo@bjn.aphp.fr 01 40 87 50 00 http://www.aphp.fr/ Prof. Alain
Sauvanet
     
Prof. Philippe Rouanet Institut Régional du Cancer de Montpellier France Philippe.Rouanet@icm.unicancer.fr 04 67 61 31 50  http://www.icm.unicancer.fr/fr Prof. Philippe Rouanet      
Dr. Peter G. Cordeiro
Dr. Maurizio Nava
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center New York, USA plastic@mskcc.org
info@maurizonava.it
212-639-2000 https://www.mskcc.org/ Dr. Peter G. Cordeiro      
Dr. Mohmed Shaaban North Cumbria University Hospitals UK Mohamed. shaaban@ncuh.nhs.uk 01228 523444 01946 693181  http://www.ncuh.nhs.uk/index.aspx Dr. Mohmed Shaaban      
Anees B. Chagpar Smilow Cancer Hospital at Yale-New Haven UK anees.chagpar@yale.edu 203-688-4242 https://www.ynhh.org/smilow.aspx Anees B. Chagpar      
Julio Garcia-Aguilar Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center New York, USA garciaaj@mskcc.org 212-639-2000 https://www.mskcc.org/ Julio Garcia-Aguilar      
Dr Tibor Kovacs Guy's and St. Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust London, UK tiborkovacsdr@yahoo.co.uk 020 7188 7188 http://www.guysandstthomas.nhs.uk/home.aspx Dr Tibor Kovacs      
Prof. Nigel Bundred University Hospital of South Manchester NHS Foundation Trust at Wythenshawe Hospital UK nigel.bundred@manchester.ac.uk 0161 998 7070 https://www.uhsm.nhs.uk/services/?letter=B Prof Nigel Bundred      
Edwige Pigeard Institut Mutualiste Montsouris Paris, France brice.gayet@imm.fr sec.universitaire.dig@imm.fr 01 56 61 62 63 http://imm.fr/ Prof Brice Gayet       
JENS-PETER KRUSE Marien Hospital Dusseldorf Germany jens-peter.kruse@vkkd-kliniken.de (02 11) 44 00-0 http://www.vkkd-kliniken.de/ausbildung/ JENS-PETER KRUSE      
Dr. med. E. Schadde University hospital Zürich Germany erik.schadde@usz.ch +41 44 255 11 11 http://www.en.usz.ch/Pages/default.aspx Dr. med. E. Schadde      
Mr Stephen W Fenwick Trust Lead Cancer Clinician
University Hospital Aintree
Liverpool, UK stephen.fenwick@aintree.nhs.uk 0151 525 5980 http://www.aintreehospitals.nhs.uk/HospitalServices/Pages/default.aspx Mr Stephen W Fenwick      
Prof. Rob G.H.H. Nelissen LEIDS UNIVERSITAIR MEDISCH CENTRUM Amsterdam, The Netherlands f.m.l.teng-vangrootloon@lumc.nl 020 525 6409 http://www.commit-nl.nl/universities/leids-universitair-medisch-centrum-lumc Prof. Rob G.H.H. Nelissen      
Dr. Rau Beate Charite CamPus Mitte Berlin, Germany beate.rau@charite.de +49 30 450 - 50  http://www.charite.de/en/ Dr. Rau Beate      
Diane Byrne The Christie school of oncology UK Diane.byrne@christie.nhs.uk 0161 446 3000 http://www.christie.nhs.uk/ Diane Byrne      
Prof. Dr. Yaman Tokat Florence Nightningale Hospital Istanbul, Turkey tokat@florence.com.tr +90 212 375 61 61 http://www.groupflorence.com/liver-transplantation/ Prof. Dr. Yaman Tokat      
Mr Matthew Barber Western General Hospital Edinburgh, UK Matthew.Barber@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk 0131 537 1000 http://www.nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk/GoingToHospital/Locations/WGH/Pages/default.aspx Mr Matthew Barber      
Miss Fiona MacNeill The Royal Marsden, NHS Foundation Trust London, UK fiona.macneill@rmh.nhs.uk   https://royalmarsden.nhs.uk/ Miss Fiona MacNeill      
Yanghee Woo City of Hope National City Center Duarte USA ywoo@coh.org (626) 301-8200 http://www.cityofhope.org/homepage Yanghee Woo      
Pressor Bruce Mann Royal Melbourn Women's Hospital Melbourn, Australia Bruce.Mann@mh.org.au +61 3 8345 2000 https://www.thewomens.org.au/ Pressor Bruce Mann      
Gülrap O. Ceyhan klinikum rechts isar technissen universität münchen München, Germany gueralp.ceyhan@tum.de  089 4140-0  http://www.mri.tum.de/ Gülrap O. Ceyhan      
Dr. E.M. Targarona Soler Hospital de la Santa Creu i Sant Pau Barcelona, Spain etargarona@santpau.cat +34 935 537 801 http://www.santpau.es/ Dr. E.M. Targarona Soler      
Pr. BARRY, Head of the department Hospital Bichat Paris, France orl.sec@bch.aphp.fr +33 1 40 25 80 80    http://hupnvs.aphp.fr/ Pr. BARRY       
Prof. Dominique Elias Institute Gustave Roussy Villejuif, France dominique.elias@gustaveroussy.fr +33 (0)1 42 11 42 11 https://www.gustaveroussy.fr/ Prof. Dominique Elias      
Mr John T Jenkins Senior Clinical Lecturer
Imperial College London
London, UK i.jenkins@nhs.net +44 (0)20 7589 5111  http://www.imperial.ac.uk/job-applicants/opportunities/forms/lecturer/ Mr John T Jenkins      
Dr Ulrich Bork University Hospital Carl Gustav Carus Germany Ulrich.Bork@uniklinikum-dresden.de  +49 351 4580  xhttps://www.uniklinikum-dresden.de/de/patienten-und-besucher/international-patients/the-hospital Dr Ulrich Bork      
Nicole Langklotz (University of Dresden), Dresden  Germany Nicole.Langklotz@uniklinikum-dresden.de +49 351 463-37044 http://www.inf.tu-dresden.de/portal.php?node_id=1&ln=en&group=13 Nicole Langklotz      
Prof. G-B. CADIERE European School of Laparoscopic Surgery Brussels, Belgium Guy-bernard_cadiere@stpierre-bru.be +32 2 535 41 15 http://www.laparoscopic-surgery-brussels.com/ Prof. G-B. CADIERE      
Prof. Emmanuel Delay Leon Berard Cancer Center Lyon, France emmanuel.delay@lyon.unicancer.fr 04 78 78 28 28  http://www.centreleonberard.fr/ Prof. Emmanuel Delay      
Prof. Sylvie Bonvalot Institut Curie Paris, France Sylvie.bonvalot@curie.fr +33 1 56 24 55 00 http://www.institut-curie.org/ Prof. Sylvie Bonvalot      
Prof. Mahdi Rezai
Isabell Grabotin 
Breast Cancer Center Dusseldorf,
Luisenkrankenhaus, Dusseldorf
The Netherlands ig@eaos.de +49 211 44773300    http://luisenkrankenhaus.de/ Prof. Mahdi Rezai
Isabell Grabotin 
     
Mario Rietjens European Institute of Oncology Italy manuela.iavarone@ieo.it +41 (0)91 973 19 00 http://www.esmo.org/ Mario Rietjens      
PD Dr. Matthias Turina University Hospital Zurich Germany   +41 44 255 11 11 http://www.en.usz.ch/Pages/default.aspx PD Dr. Matthias Turina      
Zoltan Matrai M.D., Ph.D. National Institute of Oncology Spain matraidoc@gmail.com 1-800-422-6237 http://www.cancer.gov/ Zoltan Matrai M.D., Ph.D.      
Ms. Edwige PIGEARD
Universitaire des Pr GAYET
Institut Mutualiste Montsouris  Paris,
France
sec.universitaire.dig@imm.fr 01 56 61 62 63 http://imm.fr/ Ms. Edwige PIGEARD      
Daniela Guarneri Fundatione IRCCS, Instituto Nazionale dei Tumori Italy Segreteria.Mazzaferro@istitutotumori.mi.it (+39) 02.2390 1 http://www.istitutotumori.mi.it/ Daniela Guarneri      
O James Garden Royal Infirmary Edinburgh UK o.j.garden@ed.ac.uk 0131 536 1000 http://www.nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk/GoingToHospital/Locations/RIE/Pages/default.aspx O James Garden      
Masafumi Nakamura Colorectal Surgery of Nationale Cancer Center of Japan Japan m-masayo@surg1.med.kyushu-u.ac.jp +81-3-3542-2511 http://www.ncc.go.jp/en/index.html Masafumi Nakamura      
Aamir Z KHAN Royal Marsden Hospital. London UK aamir.khan@rmh.nhs.uk    https://royalmarsden.nhs.uk/        *

ESSO Industry Partners